Born in the USA.     6'1" tall

National Honor Society (high school).  Bachelor's degree in Business, Mathematics minor.  Teaching credential,
High School Mathematics.  Master's degree, Physical Education.  Master's thesis topic was feedback's effect on speed and accuracy in the forehand.   Currently hold 554 lifetime credits of course work with USPTA, where my title is Certified Professional.  MTMCA certification: Level 3.              

Coaching and Teaching:
Five years in college tennis coaching, three as head coach. Ten years in high school teaching, mostly substituting, in Math, P.E., French, English, and other subjects as needed.  Approximately 15 summers' worth of tennis teaching.

Athletic Highlights:
Played four to five years of basketball and baseball, pitching for two league champions, before starting tennis at age 13. Worked up the singles ladder in high school and college.  Local club champion at age 17.  Played in the NAIA's 1976 men's singles tournament, where my college's team was runner-up.  Played one satellite circuit.  Sectional USA ranking, sixth in Class A (a category just beneath the "Open" group, roughly equivalent to 6.0 in the NTRP system).  

Outside Interests:
Fitness           Music             Religion            Reading           Writing

Other facts:
Amateur piano player      Former chess player                  


Backhand service return photo

Late 1970's



I use Wilson tennis rackets.

Early 2017


October 2017:   With my assistant pro, Joe Green Ball Machine, a.k.a. the PlayMate "Volley"





top of page




Link to home page A Tennis Website by Chuck Coleman

Hosted by

Beginners Only    Glossary    Philosophy      Booklist     Links     Maddie's Page   Miscellaneous    Quotes     Blog
ATP Home    WTA Home    ITF Home    ESPN     Tennis Channel     Fox    S.I.    WTT 


Davis Cup
ATP Rankings
WTA Rankings
Fed Cup
NCAA Women
Australian Open
Roland Garros
U.S. Open